Skip to main content

Final Riders Qualify for The Run For A Million

News FeedNRCHA News

Final Riders Qualify for The Run For A Million

By August 2, 2023No Comments


The National Reined Cow Horse Association (NRCHA) announced the top five riders qualified for The Run For A Million Cow Horse Challenge from the MARS EQUESTRIAN™ Hackamore Classic presented by Oswood Stallion Stakes qualifier.

At the Tulsa qualifier, it took a 433 composite score to earn a spot to the cow horse event, which will be held August 16-19 at the South Point Casino & Hotel in Las Vegas. Tyler Merrill of Weatherford, Texas secured his spot for The Run For A Million Cow Horse Challenge. Merrill rode Bet Hesa Boon (Bet Hesa Cat X Flo N Blu Boon), a 2014 stallion owned by Beverly Servi, to a 446 (R:221.5/C:224.5).

“Well first off thanks to Clayton Edsall and Beverly Servi for giving me the opportunity to ride him. It is very special, not only the Bridle win but also qualifying for The Run For A Million,” Merrill said. “We had really good success at the World’s Greatest, and it is even more special to come off of that success and him do good again. It is just a dream come true really, it is what we all dream and work for everyday so the opportunity is just amazing.”

The four additional riders who secured their spot at the Tulsa, Oklahoma qualifier are Kelby Phillips from Weatherford, Texas, Lee Deacon of Marietta, Oklahoma, Phillip Ralls from Paso Robles, California, and Chris Dawson from Perrin, Texas.

The five riders from the Tulsa qualifier will join the previous 10 qualified riders; Abbie Phillips, Boyd Rice, Clayton Edsall, Justin Wright, Lance Johnston, Randy Paul, Ron Ralls, Sarah Dawson, Shane Steffen, and Shawn Hays, to compete in the $200,000 Cow Horse Challenge scheduled for Friday, August 18. The 2023 The Run For A Million will take place August 16-19 at the South Point Arena and Casino in Las Vegas. To view the schedule or purchase tickets, visit